INDIGO AstroImager & AstroDSLR

INDIGO related discussions
User avatar
Peter Polakovic
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:38 am

Re: INDIGO AstroImager & AstroDSLR

Post by Peter Polakovic » Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:05 am

Hm, stange... I'll ask Rumen to test it with physical hardware. Thank you for report... Peter

Lead_Weight
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:26 pm

Re: INDIGO AstroImager & AstroDSLR

Post by Lead_Weight » Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:26 pm

Peter Polakovic wrote:Hm, stange... I'll ask Rumen to test it with physical hardware. Thank you for report... Peter
Any updates on the ZWO EFW not initializing? I've been using AstroImager 2 for the time being, and it seems to work fine.

User avatar
Peter Polakovic
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:38 am

Re: INDIGO AstroImager & AstroDSLR

Post by Peter Polakovic » Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:03 pm

I asked Rumen to test it but have no feedback yet, I'll ping him. Peter

rpineau
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:22 pm

Re: INDIGO AstroImager & AstroDSLR

Post by rpineau » Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:31 pm

The latest AstroImager seems to be very stable with ZWO ASI cameras.
The fact that we can no longer change settings with the live view though makes it painful to use (offset, gain, gamma, R and B balance, ...).
When doing planetary imaging (as well as lunar and solar), adjusting these parameters to get a proper image requires live view or it takes forever to adjust as you need to stop the preview, change the param, start preview, check result, rince, repeat..
AstroImager is so close to be perfect but this is what prevents me from using it instead of oaCapture (oaCapture gives mu full real time control on all of the above and better frame rate).

Rodolphe

User avatar
Peter Polakovic
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:38 am

Re: INDIGO AstroImager & AstroDSLR

Post by Peter Polakovic » Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:52 pm

Rodolphe, you can't change parameters only in streaming mode, it is technical limitation of used SDK. But you can still turn streaming off for preview and on for capture in preferences. In this case you can fine tune parameters in preview and than use hight framerate for subsequent capture. Peter

rpineau
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:22 pm

Re: INDIGO AstroImager & AstroDSLR

Post by rpineau » Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:34 pm

Hi Peter.
I'll test that, sound reasonable to me :)

Rodolphe

User avatar
Peter Polakovic
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:38 am

Re: INDIGO AstroImager & AstroDSLR

Post by Peter Polakovic » Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:38 pm


stan29678
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 1:00 pm

Re: INDIGO AstroImager & AstroDSLR

Post by stan29678 » Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:59 pm

Peter,

I ran across an anomaly in astroimager 3.0 288. I have a micro touch focuser and it works or has worked fine until today. The digital display contains numbers from 0 to 60000 with 30000 being the starting center range value. If this number is greater than 32768, the Indi driver will refuse to connect to the focuser. The error says the focuser USB port is busy (which it isn't because I checked). As long as I set this number manually to anything less than 32768 it connects and works fine. Since 32768 is 2^15 I suspect it has something to do with signed vs unsigned integers in the Indi driver code.

I hope you know more about this and can shed some light.


Thanks,
Stan

User avatar
Peter Polakovic
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:38 am

Re: INDIGO AstroImager & AstroDSLR

Post by Peter Polakovic » Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:11 pm

Thank you Stan, I'll check it. But I suppose it is INDI Server related issue. Did you update it recently? Peter

stan29678
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 1:00 pm

Re: INDIGO AstroImager & AstroDSLR

Post by stan29678 » Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:33 am

Peter Polakovic wrote:Thank you Stan, I'll check it. But I suppose it is INDI Server related issue. Did you update it recently? Peter
I updated it today while trying to determine the connection issue. I installed kstars but I am not sure that broke it.

Post Reply