Microtouch focuser can't connect

Everything else...
jcj2249
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 3:22 pm

Microtouch focuser can't connect

Post by jcj2249 » Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:45 am

During the last week I tried to connect a Microtouch focuser in AstroImager. I had only a very few number of success.
I wonder why because I set the serial port correctly.
Moreover the focuser connects without problem to TheSkyX and Nebulosity.
The INDI Control Panel gives part of the answer (see attached doc) : AstroImager has changed the serial port of the focuser to the serial port of the telescope !
Please help.
Attachments
Microtouch failed.png
Microtouch failed.png (264.5 KiB) Viewed 236 times

jcj2249
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 3:22 pm

Re: Microtouch focuser can't connect

Post by jcj2249 » Sun Jul 09, 2017 11:03 am

Another element : AstroLive USB (which uses also the INDI framework) connects to my scope and my ZWO camera but cannot connect to my Microtouch focuser.

User avatar
Peter Polakovic
Posts: 490
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Microtouch focuser can't connect

Post by Peter Polakovic » Sun Jul 09, 2017 7:51 pm

Pls. can you check what is your setting for "default port" on Prefs->INDI pane in AstroImager? This value (if not empty) is set before connection attempt to focuser driver, if it has serial port property. Similar property is in AstroTelescope, but I don't see any possibility how it can interfere :( Anyway, if there is some problem with these settings, remove them, set port names manually with Control panel and save configuration. Configuration is always loaded before and after connection attempt in all applications.

I don't have any experience with AstroLive, but it is possible, that it expects some property not present on Microtouch focuser driver and that's why it doesn't work. Did you tried it with some linux server?

Peter

jcj2249
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 3:22 pm

Re: Microtouch focuser can't connect

Post by jcj2249 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 10:47 am

The port is the right one (/dev/cu.SLAB_USBtoUART) and the configuration has been saved previously.
The INDI Control Panel says that the port is busy (see attachment).
One point which might help : I encounter the same connexion problem of my Microtouch focuser with KStars which is also based on the INDI protocol.
Another point : I connect without problem the Microtouch focuser with Nebulosity and TheSkyX.
Screen Shot 2017-07-10 at 10.39.24.png
Screen Shot 2017-07-10 at 10.39.24.png (347.02 KiB) Viewed 230 times

User avatar
Peter Polakovic
Posts: 490
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Microtouch focuser can't connect

Post by Peter Polakovic » Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:41 pm

This is actually message from Microtouch INDI driver, not from control panel, that explains similar behaviour with KStars.

Is /dev/cu.SLAB_USBtoUART present and does it have readwrite permission for current user? Are you sure, that SkyX or nebulosity is not running on the background?

Peter

jcj2249
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 3:22 pm

Re: Microtouch focuser can't connect

Post by jcj2249 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 4:04 pm

I am the administrator and only user of my Mac.
How could I know if I have the read/write permissions ? I used the installer and it created the /dev/cu.SLAB_USBtoUART port.
I double checked : no other astronomy programs are running

User avatar
Peter Polakovic
Posts: 490
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Microtouch focuser can't connect

Post by Peter Polakovic » Mon Jul 10, 2017 4:06 pm

If you are admin, it is probably OK. I'm not the author of this driver and have no experience with this device, but I asked Jasem Mutlaq to look at it already. Peter

User avatar
Peter Polakovic
Posts: 490
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Microtouch focuser can't connect

Post by Peter Polakovic » Mon Jul 10, 2017 8:18 pm

The only idea is, that device (serial port) remains locked by the previous use by SkyX or Nebulosity. Are you sure, that some of them was not running when you connected the device? Unfortunately, there is no much more Jasem can say, the message is obvious, something else uses that port.

If you are sure that the port name is correct, you may turn off auto search.

Peter

User avatar
Peter Polakovic
Posts: 490
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Microtouch focuser can't connect

Post by Peter Polakovic » Mon Jul 10, 2017 10:26 pm

BTW, default value for baud rate is 19200, not 9600. Are you sure, that this value is correct? Peter

jcj2249
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 3:22 pm

Re: Microtouch focuser can't connect

Post by jcj2249 » Tue Jul 11, 2017 12:36 pm

Once again : you've been right Peter.
The baud rate had been set to 9600 instead of 19200 !
Now my Microtouch focuser connects to AstroImager.
AstroGuider still quits from time to time.

Post Reply