AstroDSLR and Moonlite focuser control

Everything else...
Post Reply
JayKay
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 5:54 pm

AstroDSLR and Moonlite focuser control

Post by JayKay » Thu Jul 27, 2017 3:57 pm

I have installed the INDI server and configured the Moonlite focuser with the following parameters:
Connection mode: serial
Ports: /dev/cu.usbserial-FTFOXCLE
Baud rate: 9600
System ports: /dev/cu.usbserial-FTFOXCLE

When I attempt to connect through the INDI Control Panel, the status bar tells me the communication with /dev/cu.usbserial-FTFOXCLE @ 9600 baud failed. The Moonlite focuser has been selected in AstroDSLR.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Jim

User avatar
Peter Polakovic
Posts: 493
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:38 am

Re: AstroDSLR and Moonlite focuser control

Post by Peter Polakovic » Thu Jul 27, 2017 4:41 pm

Jim, are you sure, that 9600 baud is the correct speed, some time ago we had similar problem with Microtouch focuser. Try to set it to 19200 and save the configuration... Peter

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=103

JayKay
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 5:54 pm

Re: AstroDSLR and Moonlite focuser control

Post by JayKay » Thu Jul 27, 2017 7:56 pm

Peter,

I have tried 19200 and 38400 and i am unable to connect to the focuser.

Jim

User avatar
Peter Polakovic
Posts: 493
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:38 am

Re: AstroDSLR and Moonlite focuser control

Post by Peter Polakovic » Thu Jul 27, 2017 9:35 pm

Can you try ls /dev/cu* with and without connected device to make sure that /dev/cu.usbserial-FTFOXCLE is correct port name?

If it is, I have no other idea, just maybe to drop a message on INDI forum if there is some other MoonLite user:

http://www.indilib.org/forum/focusers-f ... heels.html

Peter

JayKay
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 5:54 pm

Re: AstroDSLR and Moonlite focuser control

Post by JayKay » Fri Jul 28, 2017 5:07 pm

Peter,

The installation of EQMac to version 2.0.0b3 has solved the focuser issue. It is now recognized and I can control the focuser now. Excellent!

Thanks for all your help.

Jim

JayKay
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 5:54 pm

Re: AstroDSLR and Moonlite focuser control

Post by JayKay » Sat Jul 29, 2017 4:22 pm

Need to clarify something here. Apparently the Moonlite focuser was working all along once it was recognized by AstroDSLR. It had nothing to do with an earlier version of EQMac. I simply could not see the focuser moving when it actually was.

Jim

User avatar
Peter Polakovic
Posts: 493
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:38 am

Re: AstroDSLR and Moonlite focuser control

Post by Peter Polakovic » Sat Jul 29, 2017 6:36 pm

Yes, I think so, it has nothing to do with EQMac version. I suspect, that port name is different whenever you connect it (or at least it depends on USB port you use). Is it possible? Peter

JayKay
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 5:54 pm

Re: AstroDSLR and Moonlite focuser control

Post by JayKay » Sat Jul 29, 2017 8:56 pm

I do not believe port settings had anything to do with it. They were the same in both versions of EQMac.

As I am testing indoors, I was simply looking for movement in the drawtube and not an image coming into focus on the computer. As the movement was slower than what I expected to see (imperceptible to my eye) I assumed nothing was happening yet there was actual movement as I could feel the drawtube movement when I held my hand against it.

Jim

User avatar
Peter Polakovic
Posts: 493
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:38 am

Re: AstroDSLR and Moonlite focuser control

Post by Peter Polakovic » Sat Jul 29, 2017 9:35 pm

I'm not sure if I do understand... so does it actually work or doesn't?

JayKay
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 5:54 pm

Re: AstroDSLR and Moonlite focuser control

Post by JayKay » Sun Jul 30, 2017 1:24 am

It works.

Post Reply