ZWO ASI 2.0

Everything else...
anofeles
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:28 pm

Re: ZWO ASI 2.0

Post by anofeles » Sat Jan 28, 2017 3:54 pm

Thanks, Peter. I'll test it as soon as possible...

anofeles
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:28 pm

Re: ZWO ASI 2.0

Post by anofeles » Sun Jan 29, 2017 2:19 pm

Hi, Peter. Tested with the ASI 1600 and 0,000032s exposition (32µs). I have my bias now!!!! Thank you for your support.

mrova
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 10:13 am

Re: ZWO ASI 2.0

Post by mrova » Thu May 04, 2017 8:23 pm

Finally, my ZWO ASI 120MM works fine with the beta version:
http://download.cloudmakers.eu/AI3.0_218.dmg

Thank you very much!

Lead_Weight
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:26 pm

Re: ZWO ASI 2.0

Post by Lead_Weight » Fri May 12, 2017 5:45 am

A few questions on this topic since you were able to address the exposure length for the ASI1600. I too have this camera, and wonder about another setting I see often used in other forums to adjust "offset" See attached image. This setting is available in the ASCOM driver for the PC, but it seems not every Mac application supports it.
asi-cameras-ascom-settings.jpg
asi-cameras-ascom-settings.jpg (220.63 KiB) Viewed 157 times
I pulled this from another forum on how the setting works:

"A proper offset will give you zero clipped to black pixels in every test frame. For a statistically relevant evaluation, you will need to test a set of frames once you think you have found the setting that will avoid any clipped pixels at all. The idea here is that the offset is just large enough to avoid any clipping of any pixels due to noise, but not larger than that, which would needlessly cost you dynamic range."

Also for AstroImager 3 can you support 12bit raw? This ZWO camera is 12bit, and I only see settings for 8 or 16. If you support 12bit, the histogram readings will be correct and only show up to 4096 ADU. This really helps when trying to calculate proper exposure, or you would have to load the FITS images into another application to measure them before imaging.

Thank you!

User avatar
Peter Polakovic
Posts: 493
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:38 am

Re: ZWO ASI 2.0

Post by Peter Polakovic » Fri May 12, 2017 11:03 am

Hi,

I'm not sure about Windows SDK, but in Linux/Mac version there is no offset setting. But you can actually do the same by setting black point in histogram panel.

Also there is no 12bit mode, SDK reports just raw8, raw16, y8 and rgb24 modes. 12 bit is stretched to raw16 internally (I don't know if by hardware or SDK).

Regards, Peter

Post Reply