AstroDSLR with Sony A7RIV

Questions, bug reports, requests for enhancements, etc.
psparkman

AstroDSLR with Sony A7RIV

Post by psparkman »

Hi, I am really interested in trying to use AstroDSLR to image with my Sony cameras. I just downloaded the trial copy and installed it on my 2018 MacBook Pro. At first, I tried to connect my Sony A7RIV using a USB-C to USB-C cable since the MacBook only has USB-C and the A7RIV has USB-C. AstroDSLR never showed the camera as a selection. I then tried it with my Sony A7RIII connected with a USB-C to USB-3 adapter as the A7RIII just has a micro-USB connector. Then A7RIII showed up under the camera dropdown and worked well.

So, I started playing with the method of connecting the camera. I tried the A7RIV with the same USB-C to USB-3 to micro-USB cables that worked on the A7RIII, as the A7RIV also has that micro-USB connection. But the A7RIV still did not show up in AstroDSLR.

The last thing that I tried was connecting the A7RIV to Capture One Pro (an image processing software that also has a live camera capability). Capture One would connect to the A7RIV using the micro-USB cable, but not the USB-C.

Are you planning on getting the A7RIV to connect to AstroDSLR? I know that Sony just released an SDK for the A7RIV, are you planning on using that to expand the functionality for the A7RIV?
Peter Polakovic

Re: AstroDSLR with Sony A7RIV

Post by Peter Polakovic »

Hi,

this camera is not listed in VID/PID list (nobody had it yet :D). Pls. can you check VID/PID in System Information (Options + Apple menu > System Information)?

We'll add it. Thank you, Peter
psparkman

Post by psparkman »

Hi Peter. I have tried to find what I think you are looking for, but I don't see either the A7RIII or the A7RIV when I look at the USB settings. I wanted to paste a screen shot, but it does not seem to let me paste here.