Complete Beginner: Starting from scratch

Questions, bug reports, requests for enhancements, etc.
osogordo

Complete Beginner: Starting from scratch

Post by osogordo »

Hi everyone. Just had a big birthday and finally got to realize a long-held wish to get into astronomy with a telescope. As per me, I jumped off the deep end with the idea that I'll learn to swim eventually. Keep in mind here that I have zero idea what I'm doing and am brand new to everything astro. I originally copied a rig from a Twitter follow for astrophotography and here I am with the following setup:

Scope
Meade LX85 ACF 8" f/10

Mount
SkyWatcher EQ6-R Pro

CCD
ZWO ASI120MC-S

Current Progress: Can operate. Can basic polar align using the polar scope and a polar align app on my phone. Can use the Synscan to star align and navigate around.

Today I decide to try the camera for the first time after purchasing AstroImager and AstroTelescope. As I don't have a guide camera, I don't think I need AstroGuider yet. I was able to connect the mount to AT and also go out via the server to Stellarium and control the mount.

Current hurdles:
- AT and Stellarium both had me with noticeable offsets from targets so I couldn't get into view. The hand controller worked fine, however. Is there an alignment process in AI or AT that I need to do?
- When I finally i get Mars into view, I couldn't quite make anything real happen in AI and all I could see was a white blob.

Could someone suggest a workflow or goal steps I should I try out? I would be grateful for the direction where I currently have none. I want to stay exclusive to macOS, and I'm happy to join the testers out there in whatever way might be useful. Lastly, the "Register..." button is greyed out in my software, and I'd like to participate in the v4 testing. Does anyone know how I might fix that?

Thankful for any bones thrown my way.

Best regards,
Oso
JohanB

Re: Complete Beginner: Starting from scratch

Post by JohanB »

Hi Oso,