Astrometry Questions

Questions, bug reports, requests for enhancements, etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
MLK
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 5:24 am
Location: Nixa, Missouri, USA

Astrometry Questions

Post by MLK »

I have a couple of questions related to Astrometry (via AstroImager) . . .

1. When I try to select "Use Astrometry" the Solve button is grayed out. I'm sure there is a setting, I'm just not sure what it may be. I'm using INDIGO Sky and have selected INDIGO Sky as the mount and imaging agent.

2. When using local WEB service, I am able to Solve images in 2 or 3 seconds, however, if I try and solve an image from a previous session (say the night before), it can take several minutes. Interestingly, if I solve the image "manually" through the Astrometry app (bypass AstroImager), it takes 15-20 seconds.

Thanks for your help,

Michael
Attachments
Screen Shot 2021-07-04 at 1.46.41 PM.jpg
Screen Shot 2021-07-04 at 1.46.41 PM.jpg (195.36 KiB) Viewed 124 times
User avatar
MLK
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 5:24 am
Location: Nixa, Missouri, USA

Re: Astrometry Questions

Post by MLK »

If I uncheck "Convert to JPEG," I can solve an previous image within 25 seconds. When the "Convert to JPEG" is checked, it takes several minutes.

Michael
User avatar
Peter Polakovic
Posts: 2696
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Astrometry Questions

Post by Peter Polakovic »

Hi Michael,

I suppose Astrometry Agent is not running on INDIGO Sky, that's why this option is greyed out.

Solving from AstroImager is faster, because it crop and downsample the image before submitting it.

Peter
Post Reply