Synscan slew limits?

Questions, bug reports, requests for enhancements, etc.
Post Reply
sgjsgj
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2020 9:10 pm
Location: Santa Cruz mountains, California

Synscan slew limits?

Post by sgjsgj »

I'm trying to work out how to put in slew safety limits to prevent my scope hitting the pier. Unless I'm missing something obvious I can't find anything in the control panel. So... trawling thought the source...

I did find the following in indigo_mount_synscan_driver.c, looks like some work-in-progess to implement limits. Any idea if this will get finished?

Code: Select all

int synscan_select_best_encoder_point(indigo_device* device, double haPos[], double decPos[]) {
	//  Check if we're allowed to do CW-UP slews
//	NSUserDefaults* prefs = [NSUserDefaults standardUserDefaults];
//	NSInteger ra_slew_priority = [prefs integerForKey:@"ra_slew_priority"];
//	bool limitsEnabled = [[prefs objectForKey:@"limits_enabled"] boolValue];

	//  Return the SAFE point if CW-UP slews are disabled or limits are disabled in general
	//if (ra_slew_priority == 0 || !limitsEnabled)
	//	return &eps[0];
	if (haPos[0] <= 0.5)
		return 0;
	else
		return 1;

#if 0
	//  Load limits from prefs
	NSNumber* leftPosition = [prefs objectForKey:@"left_ra_limit"];
	NSNumber* rightPosition = [prefs objectForKey:@"right_ra_limit"];
	...
Scott
All Mac automated NexDome full of ASI, Celestron, and William-Optics gear.
sgjsgj
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2020 9:10 pm
Location: Santa Cruz mountains, California

Re: Synscan slew limits?

Post by sgjsgj »

Also, I'm using an Eqmod cable - no handset.
All Mac automated NexDome full of ASI, Celestron, and William-Optics gear.
User avatar
Peter Polakovic
Posts: 2696
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Synscan slew limits?

Post by Peter Polakovic »

This Objective-C code in comment probably originate from EQMac (driver is written by David). I put it on TODO list, but it is probably better to do in the common code for all mount drivers.

https://github.com/indigo-astronomy/indigo/issues/409

In the meantime, if you use AstroTelescope, HA tracling limit can be configured on client side. There is such property on mount agent, you can use it with other clients too.

Image
Post Reply